Chief Executive Officer and Program Director

R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA

Dr. Siatkowski is the Chief Executive Officer and Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair of the Dean McGee Eye Institute and the David Ross Boyd Professor and Residency Program Director of the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology in Oklahoma City. He is the first ophthalmologist in the history of the University of Oklahoma to hold a David Ross Boyd Professorship.

Siatkowski graduated from Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University with distinction and as a junior member of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Medical Honor Society. He completed residency training at St. Francis Medical Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1991 and fellowship training at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute / University of Miami in 1993. He is fellowship trained in both neuro-ophthalmology and pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. He served on the faculty of the University of Miami from 1993 to 1999, at which time he relocated to the Dean McGee Eye Institute.

Siatkowski is a former president of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), and the Program Directors Council of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO). He is an emeritus director of the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO), former president of the Christian Ophthalmology Society (COS), and past vice chair for the Ophthalmology Residency Review Committee (RRC) of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Siatkowski has received eight different teaching awards throughout his career. He has published over 180 peer-reviewed articles, has had over three dozen extramural speaking invitations, and was the recipient of a Presidential Professorship from the University of Oklahoma in 2008.

Click here to read Dr. Siatkowski’s full profile.

R. Michael Siatkowski, MD
R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA

Associate Residency Program Director

Carolyn E. Kloek, MD

Dr. Kloek received her BA from Dartmouth College in 1998, followed by her MD from Harvard Medical School in 2002. She completed an internship in internal medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital followed by an ophthalmology residency at the Harvard Ophthalmology Residency Training Program. Following completion of residency, she served as chief resident and director of the eye trauma service at Mass. Eye and Ear, a position in which she organized educational initiatives, lectured and mentored trainees, and oversaw one of the busiest eye trauma centers in the northeast. She also completed a one-year fellowship in medical education at Harvard Medical School. She subsequently joined the Comprehensive Ophthalmology Service at Mass. Eye and Ear where she enjoyed a busy comprehensive ophthalmology and cataract surgery practice. She joined the Dean McGee faculty in January 2019 as a comprehensive ophthalmologist and cataract surgeon.

Dr. Kloek has held numerous leadership roles throughout her career. She served as associate residency program director of the Harvard Ophthalmology Residency Training Program from 2008-2013 before assuming the role of program director in 2013. She held numerous administrative leadership positions including clinical director of Mass. Eye and Ear- Longwood, a multi-specialty ophthalmology clinic and OR, chief of the division of ophthalmology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA, and associate chief of ophthalmology for Mass. Eye and Ear.

In addition to her clinical practice and role as Associate Residency Program Director at DMEI/OU, Dr. Kloek currently serves as Senior Vice President of Clinical Strategy and Integration for OU Health.

Dr. Kloek, her husband, and their three children enjoy exploring Oklahoma and traveling.

Click here to read Dr. Kloek’s full profile.

Carolyn E. Kloek, MD
Carolyn E. Kloek, MD