Stark Lectureship

The Walter J. Stark Memorial Lectureship

Walter J. Stark served as administrator of the Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI) from 1978 until 1991. Under his stewardship, the Institute grew from three floors with five ophthalmologists to six floors of physicians and basic scientists. The number of patients seen each year doubled — and then doubled again.

During his tenure, he carefully scrutinized the DMEI’s operations, conserving its assets and keeping it sound and strong. Through the Institute’s activities in patient care, education, and vision research, citizens throughout Oklahoma have benefited from Mr. Stark’s leadership.

With a small handful of colleagues, Mr. Stark shares the Dean McGee Eye Institute as his legacy.

In tribute to, and member of, Mr. Stark’s contributions to ophthalmology, the Oklahoma Health Center, and the great state of Oklahoma, his colleagues, friends, and family generously created the Walter J. Stark Memorial Lectureship. Through this lectureship, leading voices in ophthalmology come to the Eye Institute to share best practices and insights from their own experiences. Recent lecturers include Ruth D. Williams, MD; George A. Williams, MD; Keith D. Carter, MD; and Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS.

Walter J. Stark Lecturers

2019 – Ruth D. Williams, MD
2018 – George A. Williams, MD
2017 – Keith D. Carter, MD
2016 – Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS
2015 – Bartly J. Mondino, MD
2014 – Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD
2013 – Terrence P. O’Brien, MD
2012 – Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD
2011 – Susan H. Day, MD
2010 – John G. Clarkson, MD
2009 – Paul R. Lichter, MD
2008 – Julia A. Haller, MD
2007 – William L. Rich III, MD
2006 – Richard P. Mills, MD, MPH
2005 – Peter J. McDonnell, MD
2004 – Roger A. Dailey, MD
2003 – Richard L. Abbott, MD
2002 – Carmen A. Puliafito, MD, MBA
2001 – Douglas D. Koch, MD
2000 – George W. Blankenship, MD
1999 – Morton F. Goldberg, MD
1998 – M. Bruce Shields, MD
1997 – Neil R. Miller, MD
1996 – W. Richard Green, MD
1995 – Ronald E. Smith, MD
1994 – Charles P. Wilkinson, MD
1993 – Dan B. Jones, MD
1992 – Walter J. Stark, Jr., MD