Glaucoma Fellowship

Current Fellow

Raman A. Michael, MD

College: Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
Medical School: University of Illinois, Chicago, IL
Residency: University of Florida, Jacksonville, FL

Program Overview

The Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI)/University of Oklahoma (OU) Department of Ophthalmology is a large regional referral center for the entire state of Oklahoma and portions of Arkansas, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Missouri, and Texas. The medical staff consists of approximately 30 ophthalmologists, including a large comprehensive ophthalmology section and physicians in every subspecialty. These ophthalmologists provide approximately 200,000 total patient visits per year and perform more than 10,000 surgical procedures annually.

The glaucoma fellowship at the DMEI/University of Oklahoma (OU) Department of Ophthalmology offers one of the highest volume surgical and patient care experiences of any glaucoma fellowship in the country. Open to one fellow per year, the fellowship provides a diverse and thorough clinical and surgical experience regarding all aspects of glaucoma management. Fellows also actively participate in the education and training of residents and conduct research. Fellows receive salary support equivalent to PGY-5 plus benefits.

Educational Experience

The glaucoma fellowship is directed by Dr. Mahmoud A. Khaimi, who completed his residency at Henry Ford Hospital and fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma.

The fellowship also consists of the other members of the glaucoma service:

  • Dr. Gregory L. Skuta, who completed his residency at the University of Wisconsin and fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute/University of Miami.
  • Dr. Andrew K. Bailey, who completed his residency and fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma.
  • Dr. Ben J. Harvey, who completed his residency at the Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma and fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute/University of Miami.

Within the glaucoma service, there is a significant focus on new surgical treatments of glaucoma. Therapeutic modalities include selective laser trabeculoplasty, the iStent, Ab Interno Trabeculotomy, canaloplasty, the ExPress mini glaucoma device, endoscopic cyclophotocoagulation (ECP), Ahmed, Baerveldt and Molteno glaucoma drainage implants, Ologen (a collagen matrix to modulate wound healing in lieu of antifibrotic agents), and trabeculectomy. Moreover, the fellow will be exposed to new Micro-Incisional Glaucoma Surgeries (MIGS) under FDA investigation including the second and third generation iStent.

New diagnostic technologies available at the Dean McGee Eye Institute include optical coherence tomography (OCT 3-Both Cirrus and Stratus) and confocal scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (HRT 3).

Research Opportunities

Long recognized as one of the leading ophthalmologic research institutions in the United States, the DMEI/OU Department of Ophthalmology holds a National Institutes of Health Core Grant, ranks among the top research programs in the country with respect to National Eye Institute funding, and also is among the United States’ top programs in support from Research to Prevent Blindness.

The collective research interests of the glaucoma faculty include the investigation of wound healing inhibitors in glaucoma filtering surgery, genetic studies of nanophthalmos, and new developments in the diagnosis and management of glaucoma, both medical and surgical. The glaucoma fellow is expected to conduct clinical research along the lines of the fellow’s interests. Selected basic science research opportunities in conjunction with DMEI/OU vision research faculty also are available.


This fellowship is approved by the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology’s Fellowship Compliance Committee and participates in the Central Application Service provided by the San Francisco Matching Program. The fellowship application form may be accessed at

It is expected that the glaucoma fellow be eligible for an Oklahoma Medical License and thus must have completed and passed all three parts of the USMLE and be either Board Eligible or Board Certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology. No additional application material is required beyond that which is included in the central application.