R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA

Chief Executive Officer

Dean McGee Eye Institute

Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair
David Ross Boyd Professor
Residency Program Director

Department of Ophthalmology, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

Clinical Focus

Special Interests

  • Amblyopia
  • Eye Muscle Surgery
  • Retinopathy of Prematurity
  • Double Vision
  • Pediatric Neuro-Ophthalmology


  • MD: Jefferson Medical College Philadelphia, PA
  • Residency: St. Francis Medical Center Pittsburgh, PA
  • Fellowship: Neuro-ophthalmology, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, Miami, FL
  • Fellowship: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, Miami, FL
  • MBA: Price College of Business, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK


Dr. Siatkowski is the Chief Executive Officer and Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair of the Dean McGee Eye Institute and the David Ross Boyd Professor and Residency Program Director of the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology in Oklahoma City. He is the first ophthalmologist in the history of the University of Oklahoma to hold a David Ross Boyd Professorship.

Dr. Siatkowski graduated from Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University with distinction and as a junior member of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Medical Honor Society. He completed residency training in at St. Francis Medical Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 1991 and fellowship training at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute/University of Miami in 1993. He is fellowship trained in both neuro-ophthalmology and pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. He served on the faculty of the University of Miami from 1993 to 1999, at which time he relocated to the Dean McGee Eye Institute.

Dr. Siatkowski is a former president of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), and the Program Directors Council of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO). He is an Emeritus Director of the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO), former president of the Christian Ophthalmology Society (COS), and past Vice Chair for the Ophthalmology Residency Review Committee (RRC) of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Dr. Siatkowski has received eight different teaching awards throughout his career. He has published over 180 peer-reviewed articles, has had over three dozen extramural speaking invitations, and was the recipient of a Presidential Professorship from the University of Oklahoma in 2008.

Dr. Siatkowski is married to Rhea L. Siatkowski, MD, a cornea and anterior segment surgeon. They have three children, Abigail, Elizabeth, and Joshua. He is also an experienced classical pianist and has performed in multiple venues for both artistic and charitable events.

Meet Dr. Siatkowski