Anderson Lectureship

Robert Eugene Anderson, MD, PhD Lectureship

On September 8, 2016 in a well-attended ceremony in the Tullos O. Coston, MD Lecture Hall, Dr. Gregory L. Skuta announced the establishment of the Robert Eugene Anderson, MD, PhD Lectureship to honor Dr. Anderson’s extraordinary legacy and transformative impact on vision research not only at the Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI) and University of Oklahoma Health Sciences (OUHS), but around the world.

Dr. Anderson joined the DMEI/OU faculty in 1995. He holds the Dean McGee Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology, is DMEI’s Director of Vision Research, was named a George Lynn Cross Research Professor in 2005, served as Director of the Oklahoma Center for Neuroscience from 1995 to 1999, and chaired the OU Department of Cell Biology from 1998 to 2007. He has acquired more than $60 million in career grant support, authored or co-authored approximately 300 peer-reviewed publications, edited 17 books, served as Vice President of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and President of the International Society for Eye Research, and received numerous scientific life achievement awards.

As the Institute and Department of Ophthalmology prepared for the tenth anniversary of the Annual OU Student and Postdoctoral Fellow Vision Workshop, which was inaugurated in 2006, it was appropriate that the keynote lecture, which features the OU Vision Workshop’s Visiting Scholar, would now be called the Robert Eugene Anderson, MD, PhD Lecture. Financial support for the lectureship will underwrite the cost of the named lecture and other workshop expenditures to ensure that Dr. Anderson’s legacy and influence will continue far into the future.

On October 14, 2016 Jeffrey L. Goldberg, MD, PhD delivered the First Annual Robert Eugene Anderson, MD, PhD Lecture, which was entitled “Stem Cells for Glaucoma: Differentiation and Circuit Integration.” Dr. Goldberg is Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Stanford University.

Anderson Lecturers

  • 2023 – Steven J. Fliesler, PhD
  • 2022 – Tonia S. Rex, PhD
  • 2021 – Paul A. Sieving, MD, PhD
  • 2020 – Canceled
  • 2019 – David J. Calkins, PhD
  • 2018 – Patricia A. D’Amore, PhD, MBA, FARVO
  • 2017 – Victor L. Perez, MD
  • 2016 – Jeffrey L. Goldberg, MD, PhD
Tonia S. Rex, PhD
Victor Perez
Inaugural Anderson Lecturers
Elliott and Calkins
Elliott and Calkins
Elliott and Calkins