Dean McGee Eye Institute Ophthalmologist Dr. Bradley K. Farris Awarded OU/Presbyterian Health Foundation Presidential Professorship

Dean McGee Eye Institute Ophthalmologist Dr. Bradley K. Farris Awarded OU/Presbyterian Health Foundation Presidential Professorship

OKLAHOMA CITY—Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI) neuro-ophthalmologist Bradley K. Farris, MD has been awarded a University of Oklahoma (OU) Presbyterian Health Foundation Presidential Professorship.

“Presidential professorships are selectively conferred to faculty who not only excel in their professional activities but who also relate those activities to the students they teach and mentor. Dr. Farris fulfills these criteria to perfection,” said Gregory L. Skuta, MD, DMEI President and CEO and Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair of the OU Department of Ophthalmology. “Brad is celebrating 30 years on the faculty at the Dean McGee Eye Institute. In those three decades, he has made enormous contributions to the success of our organization as an outstanding clinician and teacher both here at home and abroad. Brad has carried his extraordinary brand of compassionate patient care and physician education around the globe, impacting tens of thousands of patients on three continents.”

A native Oklahoman, Dr. Farris joined the OU ophthalmology faculty in 1986, rose to the rank of Professor in 1998, and is an Adjunct Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery. He obtained his undergraduate and medical degrees from OU, where he also pursued residency training in neurology and completed his ophthalmology residency. He served as a neuro-ophthalmology fellow at the University of Miami’s Bascom Palmer Eye Institute before returning to DMEI to begin his academic practice.

Dr. Farris received the Gaylord Faculty Teaching Award in 1988 and 2009, the OU Regents’ Award for Superior Teaching in 2011, the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award in 2007, and the Christian Ophthalmology Society’s (COS’) J. Lawton Award in 2013. He also served as President of COS from 1990 to 2000. In 2014, the Sichuan Province of China presented Dr. Farris with the Tian Fu Friendship Award for his leadership and international humanitarian and educational efforts. Dr. Farris has published 29 peer-reviewed articles, a book in neuro-ophthalmology, and a number of chapters in related textbooks.

About the Dean McGee Eye Institute

The Dean McGee Eye Institute is dedicated to serving all Oklahomans and the global community through excellence and leadership in patient care, education and vision research. It is one of the largest and most respected centers for medical and surgical eye care in the United States and houses the Department of Ophthalmology for the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine. Its research and training programs are among the most highly regarded in the country. Twenty-two of the Institute’s ophthalmologists are listed in the Best Doctors in America and/or Castle Connolly’s Top Doctors; its Director of Vision Research is a Past President of the International Society for Eye Research, Past Vice President of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) and a recipient of ARVO’s prestigious Proctor Medal; two members of the faculty are recent directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology; three serve or have recently served on the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO); one was Vice Chair of the Residency Review Committee in Ophthalmology for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education; one is President-Elect of the AAO; and another is a Past President of the AAO and Past President of the American Glaucoma Society. For more information, visit

Related Content