President’s Note

Since the dedication of our first building in 1975, Dean McGee Eye Institute has emerged as one of the nation’s largest and most respected eye institutes. The Institute, the University of Oklahoma Department of Ophthalmology, and our faculty and staff have been firmly committed to our multiple missions of patient care, vision research, education, leadership, and service. I invite you to explore this website to learn more about our heritage, people, programs, and world-class facilities. You will understand why we are so proud of our physicians and scientists, many of whom are national and international leaders; a vision research program ranked among the top in the nation with respect to funding from the National Institutes of Health/National Eye Institute and Research to Prevent Blindness; and residency and fellowship training programs that attract the best and brightest candidates from across the country. By offering such excellence, we can better serve all Oklahomans and the regional, national, and global communities. Welcome and enjoy!

Gregory L. Skuta, MD
President and Chief Executive Officer
Dean McGee Eye Institute
Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair
Regents’ Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine