Glaucoma Fellowship Program (Match Fellowship #4044)

The glaucoma fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma offers one of the highest volume surgical and patient care experiences of any fellowship in the country. The fellowship provides a diverse and thorough clinical and surgical experience regarding all aspects of glaucoma management. Fellows also actively participate in the education and training of residents. Clinical research is expected with ample opportunity for more depending on the fellow’s interest. Selected basic science research opportunities also are available. Fellows receive salary support equivalent to PGY-5 (approximately $58,000) plus benefits.

The Dean McGee Eye Institute is a large regional referral center for the entire state of Oklahoma and portions of Arkansas, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Missouri, and Texas. The medical staff consists of approximately 30 ophthalmologists, including a large comprehensive ophthalmology section and two-four physicians in every subspecialty. These ophthalmologists provide over 166,000 patient visits and perform more than 7000 surgical procedures each year.

The Glaucoma Service is directed by Dr. Mahmoud A. Khaimi who completed his residency at Henry Ford Hospital and fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute / University of Oklahoma. The fellowship also consists of Dr. Gregory L. Skuta, who completed his residency at the University of Wisconsin and fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute; Dr. Mahmoud A. Khaimi; and Dr. Andrew K. Bailey, who completed his residency and fellowship at the Dean McGee Eye Institute/University of Oklahoma. Their collective research interests include the investigation of wound healing inhibitors in glaucoma filtering surgery, genetic studies of nanophthalmos, and new developments in the diagnosis and management (medical and surgical) of glaucoma. There is a significant focus on new surgical treatments of glaucoma. New diagnostic technologies available at the Dean McGee Eye Institute include optical coherence tomography (OCT 3-Both Cirrus and Stratus) and confocal scanning laser ophthalmoscopy (HRT 3). Therapeutic modalities include selective laser trabeculoplasty, the iStent, Ab Interno Trabeculotomy, canaloplasty, the ExPress mini glaucoma device, endoscopic cyclophotocoagulation (ECP), Ahmed, Baerveldt and Molteno glaucoma drainage implants, Ologen (a collagen matrix to modulate wound healing in lieu of antifibrotic agents), and trabeculectomy. Moreover, the fellow will be exposed to new Micro-Incisional Glaucoma Surgeries (MIGS) under FDA investigation including the second and third generation iStent.

Dr. Khaimi has served as a delegate to the Michigan Ophthalmological Society and as an American Glaucoma Society (AGS) Representative for the Advocacy Ambassador Program at the AAO Mid-Year Forum in Washington, D.C. Dr. Khaimi is also the recipient of support from the AGS’ Mentoring for Advancement of Physician-Scientists (MAPS) Enabling Award Program. He is a principal investigator in the Primary Tube vs Trabeculectomy Study (PTVT) and a co-investigator for the Express Mini Shunt versus Trabeculectomy (XVT) Study. He also is the principal investigator for Inn-Focus Microshunt FDA trial and studies evaluating medical modalities in glaucoma management. In addition, Dr. Khaimi has served as a scientific reviewer for ophthalmologic journals and publications and has coordinated and directed city-wide glaucoma screenings.

Dr. Skuta is the President and CEO of the Dean McGee Eye Institute and is Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology. He also serves as the Senior Secretary for Clinical Education for the American Academy of Ophthalmology and is on the AAO's Board of Trustees, Executive Committee, Committee of Secretaries, Nominating Committee, and Awards Committee. He is a Past President of the American Glaucoma Society (2005-2006) , past president of the AAO (2013-2014), and a past Director (2001-2008) for the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO). Dr. Skuta served as chair of the Written Examinations Committee for the ABO and on its Executive Committee, Nominating Committee, Examiners Committee, and Maintenance of Certification Committee. He was an ABO representative to the American Board of Medical Specialties. Dr. Skuta is a past member (2004-2007) of the Board of Governors of the World Glaucoma Association (formerly the Association of International Glaucoma Societies). He has been an editor for the AAO's ProVision print and CD-ROM educational products and also has served as a principal investigator for the National Eye Institute-sponsored Advanced Glaucoma Intervention Study (AGIS) and Collaborative Initial Glaucoma Treatment Study (CIGTS). In addition, he was a member of the Data and Safety Monitoring Committee for the Ocular Hypertension Treatment Study (OHTS). He also currently is a member of the editorial board for the Journal of Glaucoma.

Dr. Bailey serves as the director of glaucoma services at the VAMC in Oklahoma City.

Long recognized as one the leading ophthalmologic research institutions in the United States, the Dean McGee Eye Institute holds a National Institutes of Health Core Grant, ranks among the top research programs in the country with respect to National Eye Institute funding, and also is among the United States' top programs in support from Research to Prevent Blindness.

This fellowship is approved by the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology's Fellowship Compliance Committee and participates in the Central Application Service provided by the San Francisco Matching Program. The fellowship application form may be accessed at It is expected that the glaucoma fellow be eligible for an Oklahoma Medical License and thus must have completed and passed all three parts of the USMLE and be either Board Eligible or Board Certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology. No additional application material is required beyond that which is included in the central application service.

The University of Oklahoma supports only J1 visas.

Website by myheartcreative. Managed by Webvis CMS